If you never lose then you can never appreciate the victories.


The Hong Kong Ladies Tennis League (HKLTL) is a non-profit making league of tennis players, comprising more than 700 ladies from private/public clubs and groups of independent teams from all over Hong Kong. The league was formed in 1982 with 25 teams playing in 3 divisions and has now grown to 77 teams playing in 7 divisions.  

The league draws together ladies of all ages from 18 years minimum to 70 years plus, from a wide cross section of our community and from many nationalities, with a common goal for social yet competitive tennis. For many years we have supported various charities to give purpose to the tennis played.

The HKLTL runs two seasons, the first from September to December and the second from January to May with registrations and schedules before the commencement of each season. Promotions and demotions are made at the end of each season. The first team is automatically promoted and the rest at the discretion of the committee. New teams may enter at each registration in the appropriate division. Matches are played on weekday mornings from 9:30am to approximately 1pm.

The 5 divisions play in various configurations. Currently, the top group Premier consists of nine teams while Divisions 1,2,3 and 4 consist of roughly 9-10 teams each. 

The format of play is each team fields two doubles pairs who play two sets against the opposition for a total of 8 sets per match. We award one point for each set. The winner is the team with the most points at the end of the season.

A captains meeting is held at the end of each season where promotions, demotions and the new schedule is announced. It is also a chance for the teams to raise any issues that have arisen over the season.  An annual luncheon is held in May where the divisional winners for the past 2 seasons receive their awards.

The present HKLTL Committee consists of 15 members: chair, secretary, treasurer, scheduler, registrar, web-page coordinator, social convener, tournament co-ordinator and seven divisional representatives.